Age: 24

Pages: 76 / 181; 42%
ISBN: 9780062255655

 The Reason for the Reaping: This is a book club book. My first Neil Gaiman, if you can believe. Let’s hope someone made a good choice.

As I Lay Summarizing: An unnamed narrator is thrown back into his childhood, where creepy af supernatural things are happening that he somehow forgot until right this moment. COOL.

The Line That Killed Me: “Memories were waiting at the edges of things, beckoning to me. Had you told me that I was seven again, I might have half-believed you, for a moment” (7). Death by what is close, and yet so far away.

Best Character: Lettie

Why [As] You Like It: The story is simplistic, yet rather intriguing. It reads almost like an extended fairy tale. Not quite as morbid as Grimm’s originals (damn), but all the magic and good versus evil vibes make this story very elemental, very familiar, and pretty good.

Why I’m Gone, Girl: It’s rather obvious that this story will not alter your perspective on anything or provide a deep spiritual epiphany. In that respect, it’s kind of a throwaway. I know that’s what you really wanted in a 200 page novel about supernatural things on a farm, so let me be the first to apologize. I apologize. I wouldn’t say it’s a waste of time, but…

 Last Line, Last Chance: “And, perhaps, if I was lucky, she might be distracted.” 

Will I turn the page, or toss it into Mount Doom?

Fun reading is a thing. It’s a good story, and it doesn’t try to be anything else. I’ll turn the page. Also it’s almost over so that would be like not giving 100%, which I always do.

Leave a Reply

