Age: 23

Pages: 77 / 236 (eReader edition); 36%
ISBN: 9781101904237

The Reason for the Reaping: Anne Kingman and Michael Kindness said “read this” on their podcast, Books on the Nightstand. And here we are.

As I Lay Summarizing: Jason Dessen is hella smart. One night, someone presses a gun to his head. Fast forward, and Jason wakes up at Velocity Laboratories with no clue what’s going on. After a crazy scientific explanation of the world they inhabit, it becomes clear that Jason needs to get back to his family, but he is struggling with his sanity—and staying alive. Dun dun dun.

The Line That Killed Me: “Will I keep fighting to be the man I think I am? Or will I disown him and everything he loves, and step into the skin of the person this world would like for me to be?” (61). Death by…masculinity?

Best Character: Charlie

Why [As] You Like It: The story, while mildly intriguing, is keeping my interest just barely piqued. More than anything, I want to know how Crouch handles the weird science he’s made up. Without spoiling too much, the probability of the ending which I’m assuming will be predictable is mathematically impossible. So I want to see how he cleans this up.

Why I’m Gone, Girl: Writing = meh. Most notably, Crouch’s attempts to create a starkness and urgency by using short, one-sentence paragraphs to describe his scenes that are effective only about ten percent of the time. Why is everyone saying this book is go good?

Last Line, Last Chance: “She’s wearing makeup, and her clothes—jeans and a…”

Will I turn the page, or toss it into Mount Doom?

Were I two years older, would have said “not a chance.” But the story finally started moving at the last minute (What is she wearing???). With reluctance, I trudge on. I want to know how it ends.

Leave a Reply

