100 – Your Age = The Page of No Return

Take 100, subtract your age, and you’ve reached the page of no return. As we age, we have a lot less time for things like reading bad books. However, we have to give them a chance, right? All books are created equal, don’t judge a book by its cover, all that jazz. For me, that chance is 77 pages (I’ll try not to rub it in).

Here’s the deal:

  1. Pick a book. Any book.
  2. Read 77 pages.
  3. STOP. No matter what. This is my Page of No Return.
  4. Make a choice: Will I turn the page, or toss it into Mount Doom?

While following your gut is the only real life motto, the mind is also a good tool for making a choice, especially this choice. So, I’m going to break down the blog post for each book in the following way, with literary inspiration, of course:

The Reason for the Reaping – Why I’m reading the book. If it piqued my interest, it may pique yours.
As I Lay Summarizing – A brief summary to whet the palate.
The Line That Killed Me – The best line, for flavor.
Best Character – Makes you go “hmmm.”
Why [As] You Like It – Why I love it.
Why I’m Gone, Girl – Why I’m ehhh about it.
Last Line, Last Chance – The last line on page 77. This is the make or break moment. The Line of No Return, if you will.

After all of that, the decision is made! Hopefully, I can help you make yours.
Will I turn the page, or toss it into Mount Doom?

The best part? NO SPOILERS. Join me, as we stand at the edge of …

THE PAGE OF NO RETURN!

(too much?)

Leave a Reply

